Catholic Diocese of Ballarat

The Diocese of Ballarat was established in April 1874 and covers a geographic area of about 58,000 square kilometres – about half the State of Victoria. It extends to the South Australian border in the west, the Murray River at the New South Wales border in the north and the Southern Ocean in the south.

The main population centres are the city of Ballarat, which lies close to the eastern boundary of the Diocese, Warrnambool and Mildura. The Diocese currently has 51 parishes, served by 34 priests.

The Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse found that the Diocese contained several serial paedophiles who have been convicted over the years in Victoria or who have been the subject of allegations of child sexual abuse. They include (amongst others) Brother Edward Dowlan, Brother Robert Bets, Brother Stephen Frances Farrell, Brother Gerald Leo Fitzgerald, and former chaplain Gerald Francis Ridsdale.

Artemis Legal has represented in the past and is still representing clients who were parishioners of the Diocese. We invite anyone who has suffered any form of sexual abuse within the Diocese to contact us and to tell us confidentially what information they may have, and we will explain what options are available to help with these cases.

Call us or complete the confidential enquiry form.